Final Blog Entry Part Two

download (1)

For second part of the final blog for EDTECH 541, I am posting an assessment of my blogging performance.  As a motivated learner, I look to the highest level of achievement for evaluating my work. Here are the four criteria areas with descriptions of the “Outstanding” category along with my own assessment of each.

  • Content (100 points)
    Rich in content, full of thought, insight and synthesis with clear connections to previous or current content and/or to real life situations made with depth and detail.

The content of many of my blog posts are thoughtful, insightful, and thorough.  There was one posting, in looking back through all of the posts, that was lacking.  I did try to find connections and write about what was important and new to me.  Because of this, I would give myself 95 points.

  • Readings and Resources (35 points)
    Readings (from course text) and other resource materials are used to support blog comments. APA style is used to cite references.

There was one post that I did not use other resources to support my comments, I only used the course textbook.  For the most part, I tried to find additional sources to support the ideas I was discussing. With this in mind, I give myself 30 points.

  • Timeliness (25 points)
    All required postings are made early in the module to give others time to comment.

I always posted by the end of the module, and in the relative view of the course, I think they were all posted with sufficient time for response because other students were able to comment on my posts at the end of the module.  Additionally, I noticed that there were really no early posters, and we all tended to post near the end of the module.  I give myself 25 points.

  • Responses to Other Students (30 points)
    Two or more substantial posts with at least one detailed response made to address another students’ post.

I posted on at least two students as required.  I always tried to leave comments that were specific and relevant.  I want to note that I often posted in the course discussion boards when providing feedback for other classmates.  At times I also replied to a student on the discussion board as notification that I left a comment on their site.  I give myself 30 points.

Overall, I gave myself 180 points out of 190.

Leave a Reply

